We Can’t Live Without that Voice Inside Our Head, So Why Not Use It?

When a ritual changes the trajectory of your writing and your life.

Sandy Peckinpah

--

Personal Photo from Author/Santa Barbara

Each day, that mystical, magical coffee brew transports me back to Italy, where I had my very first cappuccino. This was way before Starbucks existed. I was just 16 and touring with a musical show. We were up late every night after performances, and a cup of coffee was the best way to welcome the morning. But a cappuccino was not just a cup of coffee but an event. From that first morning in Milan, I became a cappuccino lover.

Actually, I became a ritual lover.

Beginning decades ago, each afternoon, I’ve looked forward to my cappuccino hour. This sacred hour is my time for self-reflection and journaling, then writing an article.

In Italy, they consider it a big no-no to have a cappuccino past the morning, but I enjoy it smack dab in the middle of my day. It’s the transition hour. I shed my focus from business dealings of the day to an hour of ritual peacefulness.

I soon discovered something life-changing… at least it was for me.

I found that if I attach something more to the ritual of the sacred brew, it could lead the way to a more productive…

--

--

Sandy Peckinpah

Write to be happy. Author, Blogger, Huffington Post, Thrive Global, on Medium since 2016. http://www.SandyPeckinpah.com